How to Eat Gluten Free in India

FIRST THINGS FIRST:

1.  Indian folk will NOT understand the meaning of GLUTEN-FREE! Learn your menus and know what to ask for, and what you can’t eat.

Click Here to view/download GF- safe and unsafe words

2.  If you ask ‘What flour?’ is in something, know that many dishes and foods use a mix of flours, e.g. Batter is sometimes BESAN and MAIDA (chickpea and wheat), so if they name a flour, ask if that is the only one.

IN THE SOUTH:

The south is a Gluten-Free paradise! Rice is the staple and there are many GF ‘breads’ that you will be able to eat, so eat them while you can!

The following items are made with a fermented rice and/or lentil batter. These ‘BREAD’ items include:

  • DOSA

  • IDLI

  • VADA

  • APPAM

  • IDDYAPPAM

  • PUTTU

  • UTTAPAM

At all truly authentic South Indian places, all the above items will be gluten-free and served with gluten-free chutneys.

If you are Coeliac I recommend checking at every place if they have added RAWA/SUJI to any of the above items, as some places may add even a sprinkle to make the items more crispy.

RAWA (A.K.A. SUJI/SOOJI) IS SEMOLINA AND HAS THE HIGHEST GLUTEN CONTENT OF ANY GRAIN. WATCH THE F*CK OUT.

All curries we came across in the South were gluten-free and Will, my GF boyfriend (#GFBF), had no stomach troubles. Do not order anything with the word KOFTA ever – wheat-based veggie balls. 

IN THE NORTH

WHEAT ALERT. North India has a staple of WHEAT.  Stick to RICE and curries here, my gluten-free ladies and gents! Some South Indian foods will be available in the North, but because you’re in the land of wheat, be sure to ask for NO RAWA.

READ MORE ON EATING:

HOW TO EAT VEGAN IN INDIA

10 TIPS FOR EATING IN INDIA

THE ULTIMATE GUIDE TO EATING VEGAN IN INDIA  -(PDF)

Elizabeth Miu